Today, the museum features well-interpreted
exhibits of lighthouse, Life-Saving Service and other memorabilia.
For more information call, (732) 872-1814
Much of American heritage can be marked
by objects so prominent in the role of our country's development
that they actually represent an era. They are kept alive today
by a certain passion in the hearts of many. Without doubt
one of these is the old railroad. Perhaps another is the canal,
a means of transportation that preceded the iron horse. Another,
also related to transportation, is the lighthouse. While some
were mobile -- they were called lightships -- most were not.
In fact they were counted upon to stay put and shine that
Replaced by modern navigational aids, most
of today's standing lighthouses are preserved as museums by
people who have that "certain passion." One of the
largest, and the brightest light of its day, is the Navesink
Light Station, or the Twin Lights, perched atop the Highlands
below Sandy Hook.
The first twin towers were built in 1828,
separated by a service structure of some 300 feet. In 1841
it became the first American lighthouse to use fresnel lenses,
which increased brightness many times over.
Though the lights were in fine order, the
structure eventually fell into disrepair. A new one was completed
in 1862. In 1883 the Twin Lights became the first to burn
kerosene, replacing whale oil. Later it became the first electrically
powered light, its nine-foot diameter lens producing 25 million
candlepower. The reflection in the night sky could be seen
from seventy miles at sea.
The lighthouse was decommissioned in 1949.
In 1960 it became a State Historic Site.
Visitors can enjoy a variety of Twin Lights
exhibits, including a Marconi Wireless Telegraph Exhibit,
in galleries that were once quarters for the keepers of the
light. The huge fresnel lens that once burned in the tower
is on display in the Electric Generator Station. Other exhibits
showcase the United States Lifesaving Service in the Spermacetti
Cove L.S.S. life boat station, a building that was relocated
here from Sandy Hook in 1954. Here is the Museum's fascinating
boat collection, which includes the submarine-like Francis
Of course, visitors can climb the sixty-four
steps to the North Tower. At more than 200 feet above sea
level, the view is simply breathtaking. The South Tower is
open when staffing permits.
The Twin Lights is a great place for a family
outing, and groups are welcome, too. Bear in mind that, between
the beach, the Twin Lights, and Sandy Hook, the area is very
busy during the summer. Twin Lights is open year-round.
School and other Groups of any age can arrange
a Guided Tour led by a knowledgeable docent who will provide
insight and answer questions. Quite educational, and lots
Hours: 10am - 5pm. Open every day,
Memorial Day through Labor Day. Open Wednesday through Sunday
the rest of the year.
Reservations: 6 weeks.
Lunch: Picnic areas available.
Handicapped: Museum accessible. Call
Directions: From the South
Garden State Pkwy. to Exit 105 (Eatontown). Take Rt. 36 East
to Long Branch. Stay on 36 as it turns north. Cross the Highlands
Drawbridge. Take immediate right off bridge onto road that
passes beneath the bridge. Continue straight past yield sign
onto Highland Ave. At fork bear left onto Lighthouse Rd. (may
say Twin Lights Rd.)
From the North: GSP to Exit 117 (Keyport) Take
Rte 36 East for about 7 miles. Will see signs right
before you go over the Highlands Bridge.
Time: 60 - 90 minutes northeast of
60 - 90 minutes south of New York City
Ocean Institute ,
Communications & Electronics Museum ,
Museum Holmdel Arboretum ,
Sandy Hook National Recreation Area